About the Award

TU BOOKS, the middle grade and young adult imprint of LEE & LOW BOOKS is pleased to announce the ninth annual New Visions Award. The award will be given for a middle grade or young adult novel by a writer of color or Indigenous/Native writer. Established in 2012, the New Visions Award encourages writers of color and Indigenous/Native writers to submit their work to a publisher that takes pride in nurturing new talent. Past winners include Ink and Ashes by Valynne Maetani, an Asian/Pacific American Honor for Literature; Rebel Seoul by Axie Oh, which received three starred reviews and is a Junior Library Guild selection; Ahimsa by Supriya Kelkar, which received two starred reviews and is listed as a Notable Social Studies Trade Book for Young People; The Wind Called My Name by Mary Louise Sanchez; and Julieta and the Diamond Enigma by Luisana Duarte Armendáriz.


  1. The contest is open to writers of color and Indigenous/Native writers who are residents of the United States and at least 18 years old at the time of entry, and who have not previously had a middle grade or young adult novel traditionally published.
  2. Participants remain eligible if they have published work in other venues and genres, including children’s magazines, picture books, and adult fiction or nonfiction. Authors of self-published books are also eligible, but they should submit a new manuscript, not a project that has been previously self-published. Participants cannot have had a middle grade or young adult novel traditionally published if they’re applying for the New Visions Award.
  3. Only unagented manuscripts will be considered.
  4. Manuscripts previously submitted for this award or to TU BOOKS's general submissions will not be considered.


  1. Manuscripts should address the needs of children and teens of color and Native nations by providing stories with which they can identify and relate, and which promote a greater understanding of one another. Themes relating to LGBTQ+ topics or disabilities may also be included.
  2. Manuscripts may be fiction or narrative nonfiction for children ages 8 to 12 or young adults ages 12 to 18. We are interested in contemporary or historical fiction, literary fantasy, science fiction, mystery, suspense, and genre fusions. Graphic novel scripts and novels in verse for these categories are also welcome. Picture books and short stories will not be accepted.
  3. Submissions should be of full, unagented manuscripts or graphic novel scripts plus synopsis. Manuscripts/scripts should be composed in a clear 12-point font, double-spaced, saved as a Word document, accompanied by a separate synopsis and cover letter that includes the author’s name, address, phone number, email address, brief biographical note, relevant cultural and ethnic information, how the author heard about the award, and publication history, if any.
    • Middle grade novels are not to exceed 75,000 words in length; young adult novels are not to exceed 95,000 words in length.
    • Graphic novels should not exceed 150 scripted pages. Include 6-10 pages of final art samples and optional character sketches in PDF format only if you are an author/illustrator.
    • Nonfiction may be either in prose manuscript or graphic-novel form, following the word/page guidelines above. We seek narrative nonfiction projects with strong educational appeal, centered around a person or people from marginalized groups. Instructional or reference nonfiction (e.g. cookbooks, encyclopedias, etc.) will not be considered. Please include a preliminary bibliography and an explanation of how you came to write the book with your manuscript.
  4. Submissions will not be returned.
  5. Up to two submissions per entrant. Each submission should be submitted separately.
  6. Manuscripts may not be submitted to other publishers, agents, mentorship contests, writing contests, or to TU BOOKS's general submissions while under consideration for this award.
  7. TU BOOKS is not responsible for late, lost, or incorrectly delivered submissions. Be sure you leave enough time to resubmit if technical difficulties occur.


Dates for Submission 

All submissions must be submitted between May 1, 2021, and August 15, 2021


The Award winner receives a cash prize of $2,000 and our standard publication contract, including our basic advance and royalties for a first-time author. An Honor Award winner will receive a cash prize of $1,000.

Announcement of the Award 

  1. Submissions will not be returned. Be sure to retain a copy of your submission.
  2. Judges are the editors of TU BOOKS and LEE & LOW BOOKS. The decision of the judges is final.
  3. Winners will be notified no later than April 1, 2022.
  4. The Award and Honor winners will be announced no later than April 15, 2022.

For FAQs, visit

About Lee & Low Books

Lee & Low Books is the largest multicultural children's book publisher in the United States.
We are your diversity source.

Supporter Praise


Request a Catalog

Submit a Manuscript or Artist Sample

Contact Us

FREE Teacher's Guides

Helpful educator resources can be found at our Educators section.

Search our Teacher's Guides



2018 New Visions Award Winners
By Tu Books
Author Monica Zepeda has won the New Visions Award for her manuscript, Boys of the Beast. Michelle Jones Coles’ manuscript Woke received the New Visions Award Honor.

2017 New Visions Award Winners
By Tu Books
Author Olivia Abtahi and Luisana Duarte Armendáriz have won the fifth annual New Visions Award for their novels, Twin Flames and The Regent Enigma, respectively.

2016 New Visions Award Winners
By Tu Books
Author Charlotte Sun and Mary Louise Sanchez have won the fourth annual New Visions Award for their historical middle-grade novels, Escape from Tiananmen Square, and The Wind Called My Name, respectively.

2015 New Visions Award Winners
By Tu Books
Author Supriya Kelkar has won the third annual New Visions Award for her historical fiction novel, Ahimsa.

2014 New Visions Award Winners
By Tu Books
Author Axie Oh has won the second annual New Visions Award for her science fiction novel, The Amaterasu Project.

2013 New Visions Award Winners
By Tu Books
Author Valynne Maetani has won the first annual New Visions Award for her young adult mystery novel, Remnants of the Rising Sun.