Main_the_magnolia_sword_front_cover
Thumb_magnolia_sword_-1
Thumb_magnolia_sword_-2
Thumb_magnolia_sword_-3

The Magnolia Sword: A Ballad of Mulan

By Sherry Thomas

Hardcover: $19.95

E-Book: $9.99

Ebook Formats

CHINA, 484 A.D.

A Warrior in Disguise

All her life, Mulan has trained for one purpose: to win the duel that every generation in her family must fight. If she prevails, she can reunite a pair of priceless heirloom swords separated decades earlier, and avenge her father, who was paralyzed in his own duel.

Then a messenger from the Emperor arrives, demanding that all families send one soldier to fight the Rouran invaders in the north. Mulan’s father cannot go. Her brother is just a child. So she ties up her hair, takes up her sword, and joins the army as a man. 

A War for a Dynasty

Thanks to her martial arts skills, Mulan is chosen for an elite team under the command of the princeling—the royal duke’s son, who is also the handsomest man she’s ever seen. But the princeling has secrets of his own, which explode into Mulan’s life and shake up everything she knows. As they cross the Great Wall to face the enemy beyond, Mulan and the princeling must find a way to unwind their past, unmask a traitor, and uncover the plans for the Rouran invasion . . . before it’s too late.

Inspired by wuxia martial-arts dramas as well as the centuries-old ballad of Mulan, The Magnolia Sword is perfect for fans of Renee Ahdieh, Marie Lu, or Kristin Cashore—a thrilling, romantic, and sharp-edged novel that lives up to its beloved heroine.

About the Creators

Thumb_sherry_thomas_-_credit_jennifer_sparks_harriman Sherry Thomas - Author

SHERRY THOMAS is the author of nineteen novels across multiple genres, including the acclaimed Lady Sherlock mystery series, a YA fantasy trilogy that began with The Burning Sky, and more than a dozen romance novels, which have twice won her the Romance Writers of America's prestigious RITA® Award. Born in China, she learned English as a second language, and now lives and writes in Austin, Texas. Visit her website at sherrythomas.com and follow her on Twitter at @sherrythomas and on Instagram as @writersherrythomas.

Photo: Jennifer Sparks Harriman